Unfamiliar streets: Paddington 1959

This week we’re on an excursion across the Kensington and Chelsea border into new territory. I hope you’ll forgive this incursion into unfamiliar streets but when I came across these pictures, which came with a donation of papers, maps, photocopies and photographs. I was fascinated by them.  The late 1950s is a time which looks both familiar and alien to me as history overlaps with my my own timespan.

The locations themselves were not immediately familiar but the London of post war dilapidation and demolition was recognizable. A few street signs were visible so I gradually placed them in that area to the north and east of my home Borough on the far side of the Harrow Road. These streets in the old Borough of Paddington seemed like an alternative version of North Kensington.

21440014

This view reminds me of a section of Portobello Road. The curve to the left as the road goes up the hill. But that side street is Lord Hills Road in W2 not W11. I tried looking on Google Maps at the view today but couldn’t see any of these buildings.

10 (3)

This busy corner is from that same sector of the former suburb which had grown up along the main line  into Paddington Station.

21440004

Behind the busy streets the process of demolition has begun. In this picture you see a first glimpse of a half byzantine half Gothic church which I saw in many of the pictures from different angles. I’m trying to avoid letting my imagination run away with me and put it into some kind of urban supernatural story.

21440007

In another kind of urban story, a kitchen sink drama or an angry young man a lone cyclist enters the construction zone where demolition has opened up a wide space.

21500008

And here’s another church backing onto an empty lot identified by these cryptic words: Lot 51 – basement to be demolished.

21570016

A small gang of boys go by. The sparse traffic enables them to walk down the middle of the street and claim it for themselves.

21440006

There’s the church again on the edge of the construction zone.

21570003

Bottom left,the sign of the Willett company, builders and developers (their headquarters in Sloane Square at this date)  on the edge of the site. A number 18 bus passes by along the Harrow Road going between Sudbury and the West End.

21500022

The whole church, looking as though it was perched above a series of catacombs.

21570002

It’s there again in a wider view. I can’t quite orientate myself in this picture in relation to the rest of the city but those chimneys on the horizon should provide a clue to someone.

A last glimpse at one of the side streets from this area. The abandoned car, which we’ve seen in other posts ten or more years later, was already a feature.

08 (5)

And a final view of the church looking even more as if it was on the edge of a precipice about to fall to its destruction.21570024

Postscript

I hope you haven’t minded visiting an area where I’m not much use as a guide. It’s an odd sensation for me feeling lost in an old photograph. That was part of the fascination. I know some of you aren’t limited by the same geographical boundaries as me so feel free to comment with your own identifications.

We’ll be back in our proper place next week.


78 responses to “Unfamiliar streets: Paddington 1959

  • Denise Betteridge

    Fascinating, but sad photos. Did the church survive?

  • S Bays

    Poignant photos – thanks for sharing.

  • roll the dice`

    St Marys Magdalenes off senior street..still there..amazing photos…

  • Ken Macdonald

    Hi Dave,

    The church is St Mary Magdalene Church, (http://www.st-mary-magdalene.co.uk/), just next to the canal. That’s how I recognised it as I often walk along the towpath there.

    Fascinating post as always!

  • Peter Freeman

    wasn’t sure where to pots these links so I’ll post them here for your interest http://www.flickr.com/photos/67827566@N00/12689955825/

  • Helen Austin

    The last picture of St. Mary Magdelenes’ church shows a street of houses
    In the background. This was Clarendon Crescent, my husband was born in one of the houses at the top end, no. 22. The building going on is the Warwick Estate, and most people moved out to Slough and Crawley. We still have the old street sign for Clarendon Crescent, our souvenir of the past.
    Helen Austin

    • Jim

      Hi Helen, I also was born in Clarendon Crescent and like your husband at the top end looking at your picture in 1957. Sorry can’t remember the number but on the right hand side well past the Church. Good times nice to read your comments.
      Regards Jim.

    • Daryl Haskins

      Hi Helen, wow what a story, does not look like that now, i actually work at Edward Wilson Primary School in the fourth picture left of the middle and have done for 7yrs now, watch The Blue Lamp and it will bring it all back to life.
      I did the other day and was amazed at what i saw, got this info off an old boy and his daughter that used to go to the School i work at just the other day, he said he used to go the school SIXTY years ago, and how everything was different.

    • Michael Collins

      I was born at 12 Clarenden Crescent in 1952 , my father was William (Bill) Collins.
      We moved to Slough on to the Britwell estate in 1954, my mothers sister also lived in Clarenden Crescent, Rose Higgingbottom they also moved to the Britwell.
      Would love to hear from anyone who can remember our family.

  • Tony Faris

    The similarity between this area and Notting Dale are quite marked. I lived in Walmer Road until about 1958 and then later moved to Bourne Terrace in 1964. I used to fish on the canal here as a teenager and the walk to my favourite spot took me past the church in the photos. The houses beside the canal (Clarendon Crescent I believe) were still standing but only partly occupied. On the odd occasion the friendly people nearby would pass me a mug of tea over the wall. It was a sad day when the houses were finally demolished. The church did indeed have a sombre appearance and has been, I believe, used as a location for films and TV dramas of a certain type.

  • aidanmcmanus

    T HE BUSY CORNER IS THE JUNCTION OF cHIPPENHAM RD AND SHIRLAND RD

  • Triona

    Fantastic pictures – numerous ancestors of mine lived in Clarendon Crescent (or Clarendon Street as it was known as previously) and the surrounding streets, and were married in that church. So tragic that all these streets are gone…

  • shirley

    Yes the church. Is st mary magdalenes I lived opposite to it for over 40 years in Atherstone court the bells used to ring.it doesn’t do that anymore ans tes the chuech has been used in many films and tv programmes it is really beautiful inside

  • Amir Ryan

    Reading this as i love London Hostory then i notice it is st mary magdalene church right outside my bedroom window, this area in the pictures is warwick estate

  • Alan Suffling

    Hi lived at 19 atherstone ct 1963 then moved to beauchamp lodge 1967, i remember father stevenson who was the vicker

  • Daniel Haggett

    Great post, found it fascinating. I love trying to orientate myself in these pictures. In the 10th picture down where you say you are struggling to orientate yourself, the photo is taken a few blocks South of Mary Magdalene church. In front of the church is the Edward Wilson primary school, which is still there. The row of white houses to the right of Mary Magdalene church is Blomfield road, which overlooks the canal. I am pretty sure the street in the foreground is no longer there, and instead there is something much uglier like the Westway.

  • Michael T. Hyde

    I was born not far away in Westbourne Terrace Road (very expensive Victorian houses now) in 1947 and we used to pass St Mary Magdalene’s Church on our way to the Catholic Church – in (I think) Cirencester Street – Our Lady of Sorrows most Sundays. I have fond memories of all the area – Harrow Road (and a Woolworths where I chose my toy soldiers displayed behind little glass partitions). We left the area in about 1957 to a new housing estate in Langley Buckinghamshire and a couple of years later moved over to another estate Britwell. Both these estates were either side of Slough. Thank you for jogging my memories.
    Michael Hyde

  • steve

    The last photo of the church with the crane and boarding,is now the warwick estate paddington, the houses on the right,run along the grand union canal,all the houses went in the late 60’s early 70’s with the construction of the warwick estate.

  • Nat Rodgers

    I lived in 112 Clarendon cresc. We used to play cricket outside the church, I went to Edward Wilson primary school Good old days. Nat Rodgers

    • Jenny Williams

      Hi my dad and his family lived in no 49 Clarendon Crescent – do you happen to recognize any names at all? They were Alfred and Mary Mills and their children Charlotte, Richard and Elizabeth. Then Elizabeth married Charles Belcher and had 7 children one of which was my dad, Bill Belcher. t would be fascinating if someone had known them. My dad was born in 1934. Thanks, Jenny

      • Michael.Collins

        At the top of Clarendon Crescent in the middle of the road was some public toilets , my mothers father Ted Allen was the attendant he lived in number 30 for great number of years. I was born at number 12 in 1952 and moved to Mansfield Close on the Britwell in 1955.

  • Roy Hamshaw

    I came across your site this morning while carrying out a search into my ancestry. My grandmother, Margaret Winifred Pugh was born at 77 Clarendon Street on 15 August 1870, daughter of Edward Price Pugh and Mary Ann Pugh, formerly Matthews.
    My great grandfather Edward was a police sergeant in what was at the time called 5X division, which I assume was in Paddington.
    I haven’t been able to locate exactly where number 77 Clarendon Street was but the photographs help me get a better picture.
    It could be that my grandmother was baptised at St Mary Magdalene church.

  • george t, wallis

    hi there you have few memories there i lived in 79 woodchester street opposite the junior school during the blitz we had guns outside mary mags
    and they made quite a racket i went to senior street school at the time we moved out in 1957 april by the end of the year they was knocking everything down many memories of those days . there was a shop opposite mary mgs maddens al us kids used to with mr madden picking up butterfly putting in a bucket water which one of us carried those were good days

    helen austin ,did you marry terry or brian our relations the masons lived in 24 opposite maxie webbers shop penny for a fag

  • John Ince

    I know most of the pictures above. I played in the old houses before they where knock down, near St Mary Magdalenes Church. The BBC have used the church for Waking the dead and Silent witness. I known th.e whole area well my school was in Waverly Walk now gone, but the picture showing the Harrow Road showing the Wilett builders shows the Old Ben Johnson pub on the corner of Waverly Walk. it was good to see these pictures, also look up Roger Mayne who took photo of the area in the 50’s.

  • Ian mackay

    In the film the Blue Lamp that covers most of this area, is there not a car chase scene where they speed around the corner where the church is..
    I remember alot of us used to go to Scotties opposite the Harrow road Police Station for a coffee, then to The Ben Johnson, it had a sort of renaissance in the early part of the 1960’s when we all used to go there on a Friday night, an Indian man called Ida (or something like it) opened a sort of club in a basement nearby, we all a lot younger then, I would have loved to have had all the old photos from the photo studio shop near the BJ in the Harrow road, I can remember proud photos of West Indian chaps in their London transport uniforms in the shop window, although we had a lot less, those days seemed happier !

  • Ian mackay

    The second photo is of the area called the Chippenham, named after a pub of the same name, I think Estate Agents now call it Maida Hill as if that changes anything!

  • Elaine Phillips

    Great photos, brings back memories of my childhood. I used to live in Cirencester Street. Does anybody know any of the following people who I used to be friendly with: Roy Davies, Tommy & Micky Moore, Kenny Green, Johnny Oddie, Billy Brown, Janet Ramsey, Barbara Penment. My name is Brian & my twin’s name is Alan Phillips, also my cousin Kenny Whitman.

    • John Ince

      Did Micky Moore And Biliy Brown go to Holy Trinity with St Paul in Waverly Walk in the late fifty’s?

    • Roger Kaupe

      My mother was adopted but her birth mother was Mary Phillips, who lived at 20 Clarendon Gardens for most of the 1940s, with her elderly mother Elizabeth Phillips . I don’t suppose that name rings any bells? We’ve been trying to find out more about her for years.

  • steve

    I have just come across this web site and am totally amazed, i was born on alfred rd 1970, and moved across the road to bourne terrace in 1982 and lived there till 1994, i noticed you mention “maps” i would love to see those, the old paddington before the construction of the warwick estate is something i would love to see , have you posted them somewhere?
    Would love to know

  • michael Bishop

    I have just come across this site as well, Steve; my gran lived on the corner of Waverley Terrace just opposite St Pauls school were I also went with my brother Harry from about 1949 till 1957 etc. your a lot younger than I am; but the area remained much the same till it was demolished and replaced with the Warwick Estate; which is so boring, nothing like the Streets filled with low rise real houses and streets full of kids playing free from cars; I will save this page and return…..Micky Bishop.

    • John Ince

      Hi Michael. I started at St Pauls there from 1958-1962. so you must remember Dolly sweet shop which backed onto the play ground. There are good photos of the area taken by Roger Mayne (RIP) which you can look up on he’s website.

      • michael Bishop

        Hi John; I left St Pauls in 1957…..So you were there after I left etc….I don’t remember the sweet shop that backed onto the playground; but before the playground was built out of back yards; we had a Play Street out front of the School which was Waverley Terrace etc, and across Alfred Rd to the right on leaving the school doors, left into Alfred; there was a shop called Randal’s etc; not sure if your spell randal’s that way but that was the name of the lady that ran the shop; very near that shop was the entrance to the Paddington Goods Yard lorry entrance; lots of those three wheeled scammel’s used to come and go along Alfred Rd; we used to run behind them and get a lift to Holy Trinity for school dinners; Holtham was the headmaster; skinny little runt he was…..My Nan lived on the Corner House of Waverley Terrace and Alfred Rd……..I think it was Snows Bakery at the top near the Harrow Rd. The Coliseum [Bughole] was our local cinema….there was a great Pie and Mash shop a couple of doors from the cinema…..bye for now….Mick.

      • John Ince

        Hi Mick. I think I got it wrong the name of the lady that who came from the shop to sale us sweets was called Dolly. She came over the road with a box full of cake etc to the play ground. I had many happy hours in that play ground playing football across it, one goal being chalked onto wall of the house and the other the fence that backed onto the bomb site. I remember old Harry Holtham and you summed him up about right. The other teacher where Reggie Meadows, Mr Sofee, Mr Macho and Mr Lence I think I spelled their names right (never did learn to read or write properly there) and was caned by all of them. They weren’t bad teachers and I was very happy there. We had to go to the girl’s school for our dinner by Royal Oak station it’s all gone now. On the way back from dinner would wait by the traffic lights on the Harrow Road for a coco cola lorry to stop and we would run out a nick a few. I played in a lot the empty house shown above in the pictures by the Church before they knock them down, for a Kid it was a big play ground for us and I loved it. I remember the Bakery, Coliseum [Bughole] and Pie and Mash shop. It fact I went to school was the boy who’s dad owned the shop. What I most miss about the area was the people, most of area kids would go to St Paul boys or girls and there were many big families in that area. What I think I got out of the times was how to be street wise. If you look up Roger Mayne website photo’s he got a couple of picture of Waverley Terrace and Alfred Rd. Are you still in the area? bye for now John

      • michael Bishop

        I don’t know or remember that Dolly lady ‘’John’’ as she probably came after I left….There were houses all around the Play ground area before WW2; so there was no playground as such; as I said we had a Play Street which was banned to cars; not that anyone had a car then…..LOL……

        The Play Street was Waverley Terrace from Alfred Rd to Waverley Walk; then about 1954 they built the playground; [ Holtham was head at that time] the houses that got bombed were in orchard street; you will remember the prefabs opposite the playground wall the other end from the school; well there were houses there and where the prefabs were put up; there was a dairy as well near Waverley walk in orchard street.

        The bomb site I think you’re talking about was still undeveloped and to the right as you left the school and walked into the playground; at the top on the right etc…I think the teacher called Sofee was called sofa; but it might not be the same man; this one was well built, largish and had a moustache; but he went to the girls school I think; if not he wasn’t at the school in my time; but if he is the same man he was at St Pauls when I was six years old; we had a Miss Moorhouse, a red head and a real looker; all the teachers used ti dribble over her; she eventually left by the time I was about ten; we had a Mr Hardesty who was deputy head under Holtham; and a Mr Readycliff we all called wanker; as he was constantly shaking his trousers with both hands in his pocket; an odd man to say the least; once he rapped my knuckles with the edge of a large ruler; it cut mu knuckles open; I shoved him out of the way crying, and jumped on him as I ran out of the class, down the stairs from the top floor. Out into Waverley Terrace and into my Nans House; she saw my hand and got mad; she was a large women with one large eye like the Cyclops; she marched over to the school and nearly strangled him; he shit himself; the whole class had a great time watching him tremble in fear; and he never once hit another kid with that ruler whilst I was in his class; the other teachers I don’t know; so they were later etc.

        The Girls School was originally the senior school that was added to St Pauls, which remained a junior school; I was in a children’s home from about 4 years old till about 6; and my mother had died of TB prior etc; she was my Nans Daughter; she had sisters but I know little on my mothers side as my father was from North London; so as my mother was dead, I never had a lot to do with my Nan in Waverley Terrace apart from the odd time I knocked on her door; but there was a family called Hobbs in Alfred Rd; and one day her son Vicky had told her my name, and she came over to talk to me, and she said she was my Aunt; but at that age I never understood that she was my mothers sister; I was surprised that the Hobbs family were my cousins etc; but I wish I had talked more with them to learn more about my mother; my Nan died about two years later, and I lost contact with my maternal family.

        There is lots to say still; like my friends that lived around that area; Brindley Rd my best mate John Kent lived, we called him Michael at school; I think he liked my name when we first met at 6 years etc; and that was what we all called him ever after; mind you one day I knocked for him and his mum answered and I said ‘’Is Michael in’’ and she replied nobody by that name lives here…..LOL

        Got to sort out my dinner now as football is on soon; but I will catch up later…….Mick.

      • michael Bishop

        Part Two}

        Hi John; I will catch up with the last lot……I know what you mean about learning to read and write there; It was the same for us all; but I did teach myself all I needed from the library and night school for trade jobs etc.

        It might interest you being younger; that there was only St Pauls in the late 1940, the girls used to go to St Pauls as well; which was nice…….LOL……Then I think Holy Trinity Church on Bishops Bridge Rd gave over the Harrow Rd Site for School use etc; which became a senior school; then shortly after Holtham separated the girls to go to Holy Trinity; and the boys to go to St Pauls etc; later if wanted I could name lots of people; you never know one or two might click with you, or others that read the site etc; The Hobbs family was large; about ten kids I think…?.

        I lived in Clifton Gdns most of my life; the reason I went to St Pauls was because my older brother went there; he knew our Mother; I never did; and as one of our Nans lived in the Terrace he obviously went to school there; I think the reason we lived in Clifton Gdns on my release from a childrens home was because my Mum got bombed out; and they moved her to Maida Vale just before she died in 1947….But for years after that I boxed at Senior Street, Middle Row, and North Kensington; the Senior Street is also Edward Wilson of course; they used to have an Irish Girl Band there training in the lower school hall; with the boxing on the first floor hall; I tell you John; those girls in their uniforms marching up and down the hall playing; was a pure joy to see and hear; the Band Owner lived in Clifton Villas; I often saw their Ford Transit parked outside their house.

        You obviously went school swimming in Porchester Hall as well; remember the Iron Bridge from Torquay St to Westbourne Park Villas; that is still there today; and although I used Seymour Hall baths later; Porchester Small was always my favourite; and Rudges Cycle Shops; Our Lady of Dolours? [ one granddaughter baptised there ] and of course all the Blue Lamp house I remember well; the scene where Bogarde is chased from the house and gets into the final car with his mate; that house was spot on the corner of Delamere Terrace; I knew a girl there called Maggie [ I think that was her name] once on friends reunited a girl from Cirencester contacted me; and she said she fancied me at the time; ‘’a said’’ why didn’t you tel;l me then not now…So it goes to show that sometime others know us, but we don’t know them…..??.
        Today I still live near where it all was; I am five minutes walk from Clifton Rd. and I wouldn’t change my home or area for anywhere in the World; every time I pass any place I am at the time; I see old friends, those times, even the things we did; and most are dead now…
        Well I think I caught up with your post; So Bye for now John……Mick.

  • michael Bishop

    Just an off-chance for the Paddington Lot: anyone know or remember these people; possible family on my mothers side; Winifred F M Dean DOB 1926.

    Christine G Harrison DOB 1927.

    James B Harrison DOB 1930.

    Children ?

    Pamela J Scott DOB 1947.

    Geoffrey B Dean DOB 1948.

    Janette Ridgwell DOB 1950.

    Catherine S Dean 1952.

    Any information would be appreciated; for our family tree etc…..

  • MagsH

    Ooooh’s slip of keys…

    Dear Dave,

    Just wanted to reiterate what everyone else has said about this site – amazing & so interesting especially the old photos which gives me that warm fuzzy feel.

    In relation to the second photograph, it has already been mentioned where the area is but I just wanted to elaborate.

    Directly in the middle of the photo is a large Off Licence that my Nan used to frequent to buy her & her upstair neighbour’s Guinness & Mackson Stouts. I distinctly remember a large advertising logo of a Toucan which absolutely fascinated me as a child, it’s eye seemed to follow me around, this seemed to dominated the Off Licence.

    To the left of the Off Licence is Walterton Road, the 36 bus ran from Harrow Road & stopped just before the Off Licence in front of a basement Shoe Menders whose forever open window was a man constantly working on shoe repair, I can still smell the leather.

    The street to the left of Walterton Road is Chippenham Road & left of that (the road directly in the middle of the photo) is, as already mentioned, Shirland Road. The Chippenham Pub being on the right hand side. This pub, back in the day had one door in the Paddington Borough & the other in the Kilburn Borough. Consequently, on a Sunday evening each Borough had different closing times which would encourage my Dad, along with his friends to go out of one door & into the door around the corner for the last 30 minutes apparently still carrying their glasses.

    Back to the Off Licence – the right of the photo was a small parade of shops i.e. Hairdressers, Butchers etc. Just along was & I think still is Shirland Mews.

    Happy, happy days even though I only lived there on & off with my lovely Nan who lived in Saltram Crescent ‘The Chip’.

    Also, enjoyed reading the other comments, wonderful humour, wonderful Paddington.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi all. My name is Peter Hewlett, I lived in18 Bourne terr. I had an elder brother Clifford also William Sister Perle.A couple of younger siblings Trevor, Jilly, Terry and Robin. I was evaccuated to Dorset, I returned at around 10years old. I was born in 1938. When I came back to London I went to Senior street school.After failing the school exams to go to a grammer school, I was sent to Amberly rd school It was full of thugs and that was mostly the teachers,So I got myself transfered to Holy Trinity along the Harrow rd. Three classes mrs king a very sexy lady. A mr Frost very handy with his knuckles on your head.That was until I said to meet me in the ring on a wenesday morning.He gave it a miss after that, So no more head banging. A great male teacher mr Soper, a large built swarthy dark haired chap,all the girls would hang around him at playtimes and lunch breaks. Another elderly teacher who I cannot the name of. My father had a yard along the Harrow rd.In picture ten is a snack bar where m y dad could be found, usually with a pint mug of tea in his hand. A bit further alongHR was the cleaning station( nitty nora) where my mother worked. On weds we would go to Essindine school for woodwork. I also swam at portchester small baths one morning a week. The peoples names I remember, are surnames no disrespect intended Fosket, a couple Clines,Tommy Hill,John Carter Who lived next door.Fred rainsford. Dick Woolhouse.Ronnie Wightman.Gerald Fitzgerald. Some of the ladies Dianna Rose Beryl Oliver. Grace King June Reilly Another name came to mind Groom,a very tall chap. In bourne terr,Some of the shops were Mobs the pawnbrokers Tony Spencer worked there. At the top of bourne tr was a mews called oliver mews which joined up with senior st, This is where the bookie had runners both ends to warn of the police. The next turning was hasbrough st where T ommy Hill lived and ronnie whiteman also lived. My fathers parents at the top end of the street.Also in BT was dan cootes who did penny drinks. harry smith was the green grocer where my uncle george worked. There was a dairy who had the mikl sent up from Wales every day, He had a little threewheeled hand cart to deliver the milk. Also was Olivers oil shop on the corner.

    • peter Hewlett

      This the continuation. A couple of more names that sprang to mind are Peter Rodway, Peter Hughs, On the first floor of senior street school was a boxing club run by a chap called Tommy Quill. A very nice chap.

  • michael bishop

    Hi Peter; I new a youth called John Hewlett; I think it was John etc; I did see him in the Boxing Hall in Senior Street School [ Edward Wilson] he might be related to you, I never knew him that well just as someone who knew people I knew etc.. The Trainer in my time was called Jackie; he was a bantamweight from Belfast, Edgar Pierce used to help out as well; Edgar died about a year ago, I don’t know where Jackie is now, but he lived over near Buckingham Palace Rd the last time I knew etc.. I trained at Senior Street from about 1959 onward in the evenings; and over Balby Rd the 7 feathers etc, and the 4 feathers just off Church Street Marylebone.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi thanks for replying. Im sorry I must have been before your time. We moved out on my first week at full time work. I went to work from 18 Bourne terr and cycled to our new home in Roehampton sw18 after work I think that even now it seems a strange thing to do. I worked in JJD builders supplys in Harrow rd opposite the register office, saw lots of weddings on a saturday. At the boxing club were a lot of guys older than me, A couple of brothers by the name of Ryan also a couple prize fighters whose names I cannot recall. I live in France now, But I am coming back tomorrow the 8 7 16 and I will make time to walk some of the streets. I started work at about just gone 13 years old. Pete.

  • peter Hewlett

    I went back a few days ago and walked around Bourne Terrace and saw what’s left of Senior Street school. Holy Trinity School is no longer there and the Westway flyover is on its site. The Red Lion pub has gone too. Very sad. I took plenty of photos but can’t post them in this thread. If anybody would like to see them just email me at peterhewlett@hotmail.com.

    • michael bishop

      Hi Peter. Yes Senior Street is still there; its called Edward Wilson etc; but its the same. they stopped using the evening classes in Margaret Thatchers time; cost cutting etc; Jackie and Edgar Pierce where the trainers at closing time; in-fact they were the trainers from about 1960 onwards till it finally closed; Stowe Boys club from Edgware Rd moved to the corner of Bourne Terrace, its still there but now a Health Centre; I ran a football team there about 35 years ago for about five years….The Red Lion you mention is shown in a film called Bitter Harvest, it also shows the Harrow Road near the Regal, and you can see the Pub and the Depository on the Harrow Rd heading towards Edgware Rd, which was where I hung out as a teenager; I worked for Winter Trading at the rear of the Metropolitan Music Hall……I know what you mean about posting pictures; I looked weeks ago but couldn’t find anywhere to upload them so I gave up; but there are scenes in Spare the Rob, Max Bygraves that shows Lords Hill Rd, the junction of Cirencester and the Church, near the Stone Bridge; I cut them from that film, but it was wasted as I can’t post them either; Holy Trinity went about 50 years ago……LOL……You don’t get many replies on this forum, I think most have died or stopped popping in etc. but you never know; one day someone else might pass accidently, and make contact; so its worth the odd look in etc……..Best Wishes……Micky Bishop.

  • michael bishop

    PS; A Kevin Ryan used top box at Senior Street; he was very good, I saw him fight in competition bouts and he always seemed to win….LOL….but I know he preferred football, which we played in the School playground; I knew Kevin well, and so does one of my sons; the last time I saw Kevin was at a mates Grandsons Army Funeral; he was killed in Afghanistan and had a Military Send off at the Rosary Church in Old Marylebone Rd, I saw Kevin by he was leaner than the years before and I didn’t realise it was him till later, as it was a sad day etc; but I think Kevin is still around and in the Paddington area; if he had died I think someone would have told me; but I can’t be sure; the funeral was about 7 years ago; so its possible; he looked lean and fit at the time, so it looks good for him to be around still….Mick…

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi Michael, I’m enjoying reading your memories. It would be good to talk. If you can email your phone number to me at peterhewlett@hotmail.com I could give you a call (our calls are free). Hope to hear from you. Cheers Pete

  • michael bishop

    Hi Peter; I don’t give out personal details on the internet for anything; sorry about that, you never know who or what can read your details etc; so a long time ago I even stopped posting on forums as well; on here I just write about things that others might ask or link too etc, its all fact but only of use to those from that time and area. I will reply to posts on here, as it not only links us, it links others to the same topic etc…….I still live near where I grew up, so I see what changes and what doesn’t change, believe it or not I don’t even answer my home phone due to pests and con-artists, or kids wanting a sub………LOL………..Take care ok, and if I can help, just post on here………..Mick.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi Mike. Thanks for your reply. Sorry you have had problems on your coms. how much nicer it would be if people treated one and other with respect. Cheers Pete.

    • michael bishop

      Hi Pete; if you need to know anything I know; just post here and tick the notify ok……I might even go off line later this year; I have had enough of BT and its connections as well, and as I get out on the streets a lot I use the internet mainly for amazon or ebay etc, I even have two pay as you go mobile phones and never use them……LOL……Stay in touch through here; and when I am on line I will see the mail and reply ok…..Mick.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi Michael I lived in Bourne Terrace and there were some small streets off it, one of them Oliver Mews (joining Senior Street). Hasborough Street, I think. And Stanton Street or was it Statton Street. There was one next to the school, the first one had air raid shelters in it after the war. I just bought a 1938 A-Z of London but it doesn’t name those roads. Do you remember? Cheers Pete

    • michael bishop

      Hi Pete; Bourne Terrace used to be called Westbourne Terrace North in the late 1910s to 1914s aprox; then it changed to Bourne Terrace; likewise some streets got demolished to make way for Senior Street School; in 1872 on a map I have the roads you mention are there; I,E Oliver Mews was called Oliver Place, Hasborough St, remained the same: then you had Stalham St, then Emily St, and Philip St, all between Senior St and Westbourne Terrace North to Ranelagh Rd, later called Lord Hills Rd which ran from the Stone Step Bridge to the Harrow Rd and the Royal Oak Tube Station..

      So in our time it was Bourne Terrace, left into Oliver Mews, out the other end and turn right into Senior St, [ Dartington Terrace used to be there][ just a small group of hourse; about half a dozen] next from Harrow Rd end of Bourne Terrace; on the left Oliver Mews, forward Bourne again, on the next left Hasborough St, next left off Bourne, Stalham St, and between that and Philip Terrace was Senior St School, and it was built after demolishing Emily Street which was slap bang in the middle of the school….!!

      So you can see before and after WW2 streets changed and post war schools built and bombed houses replaced with flats and other houses etc.

      Waverley Walk in our time was called Waverley Rd in 1914 etc. I can see the streets as they were then in my head, even the names I did not know, never dulled the actual place as I knew it, as kids don’t take a lot of notice of names, but the do remember places very accurately in detail even the state or condition of those places etc……If you remember Senior Street you will remember the Irish Girl Pipe Band……They really were magnificent little Colleens to be sure to be sure…….LOL…..Their Leader lived in Clifton Villas, I often saw there Van parked there……..Best Wishes….Mick.

      • peter Hewlett

        Hi. Mick. Thank you for the info. If lived in that area, it was pretty close in friendships. unfortunatly for me, We were one of the first families to be rehoused over on the roehampton estate. the whole course of my life altered with that move, met whole new groups of people, changed jobs, ended up in the norwegian merchant navy, nat service. I used to court a young lady from stalham st, who moved to kensal rise, her name was Anne Murphy also known Rosie, she had a older sister, and a younger brother called Tommy. I would love to know what happened to her, she moved to my mothers at one point, Then might have gone to America or Australia. One of lifes mysteries. The weather here is scorching at last. Coming back in on the friday next a birthday suprise for brotherinlaw. Take care thanks for the info,ARC Pete

  • michael bishop

    Excuse the spelling; one of my pest sons called while I was typing; he wanted a sub…..LOL…….I just remembered a boy called Jackie Roach I suppose it was just Jack; but he insisted it was Jackie; so we called him Jackie; he lived just outside Oliver Mews in those Houses called Dartington Terrace; which was really ”Senior Street Proper” when we we 15 we went camping; he was always on about Shakespeare, and I wanted to go to Cornwall, but he begged to go to Stratford on Avon, and against my better judgement we jumped a train at Paddington and ended up in Stratford on Avon; well it pissed down with rain for a week solid and we nearly died of pneumonia, I lasted a week then jumped back on the train to Paddington, and I never did get to Cornwall…….I never saw Jackie again as we started working then, and Rock and Roll was what took over after that and life really started moving fast……..!!

  • Alan O

    Thank you for these haunting pictures which conjure memories of my own childhood in Acton W3. I came to the site searching for photos of Braden Street W9, where my grandmother was born in 1883. However, all but a corner of the street is demolished, like so much of working class Victorian London, to make way for blocks of flats.

    • michael bishop

      I remember Braden Street W9; it ran from Shirland Rd to Amberley Rd, in Amberley Rd was Amberley Rd School, at the top of Amberley Rd was the Harrow Rd, turn left for the Pie and Mash Shop and the Coliseum Cinema where the Film ”The Blue Lamp” was made. Paddington General Hospital was to the right slightly on the other side of the Harrow Rd.. My first wife had and Aunt and Uncle who lived in Braden Street; they bought the house for £500 and it was bought on compulsorily purchase order by the State or council etc; today it would be worth about £450.000, so another working class person was robbed by the State……..? I worked in a mews the next street down with cyanide in steel gear production; Amberley Rd you might remember was full of scrap yards mostly dealing in rags and paper, and a few Timber Yards supplied by barges on the Regents Canal; I used to go out with a pram before school to collect waste paper, rags, bottles, and horse hair mattresses to earn some money for food for me and my brother to eat; if I was unlucky we starved till school dinner time, but most days I did well enough to be able to afford Shredded Wheat, Porridge, and sometimes Pie and Mash or Fish and Chips, there were also a few Farrari Cafes along the Harrow Rd where we got Egg and Chips for 9pence. I remember most of the roads now gone to build the Warwick Estate; and to be honest the houses the State Destroyed were far better than the Estate they built in its place. As it happens; today on Talking Pictures TV there is a film called ”Spare the Rod” Max Bygraves; and you can see in the beginning some of the Old Area, although not Braden Street; more the other side of the stone pedestrian bridge, Lords Hill etc; its supposed to be about and east end school, but its filmed in your Area of Paddington. In the other Paddington Film, ”The Blue Lamp” the little girl who tells the Police, ”My Dad says” ”All Coppers Are” was called Sally, and she is still alive and I see her often; as a matter of interest; Sally told me she got a red bike for her part in the film………I am often sad that we Londoners have lost our City, and our Culture; today its all about money and greed.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi When they were making the Blue lamp, Us children wanted to be in the film, So we drove the stars and crew mad by trying to walk in shot. Jack Warner tried to pretend he was a real copper by telling us to move along. When we pointed out that he was not a real, He handed us a tanner each to leave them in peace, Which worked much better, As most of us shot off. to buy food of some sort. He came across as a really nice man. p.

    • michael bishop

      Hi Peter. Did you go to the Blue Lamp filming site in Hall Place just off the Edgware Rd…..?……..That scene was where Sally found the gun, and there were lots of other kids there etc; Micky Kehoe was one of them, he can be seen in the same scene etc; his grandson was killed in Afghanistan about six or seven years ago; the Army had a memorial service for him at the Rosary Church Old Marylebone Rd….Micky.

  • peter Hewlett

    Hi mike, I only remember around amberly rd the collie cinema and some of the roads along harrow rd. Sorry to hear of your mates sons death. Its a good job there are brave men like him on the globe. RIP.

    • michael bishop

      Hi Peter. I just thought you might have been one of the kids on that bombsite where Sally found the gun; there were a few there that day, but not me……LOL. Micks grandson had left the army, but re-joined after not finding work he liked on civvy street; its one of those things as you get older and older, we lose lots of family and friends, many a lot younger as in this case; I have been lucky myself; lost no kids, however all my immediate family are long gone, I am the oldest male left; but I ain’t giving up without a fight……..LOL………..Who Cares Anyway…….Live, Laugh, Love, and Do it all over again………Mick.

      • peter Hewlett

        Hi Mike Thanks for your reply. Where obouts did you live? As you can see from my posts i was from Bourne Terrace> My dad was born in Philip terrace just around the corner. My mothers mother lived in Torquey st Spelling does not look right, But was on the other side of the road leading to the halfpenny steps as we called them.She ran a boarding house for actors. She had passed on by the time I was born. I remember the bomb that flattened the square at the bottom of bourne terrace, A couple of bombs going towards the school near senior street, The street with the shelters in it .P.

      • michael bishop

        Hi Pete; just finished shopping around Edgware Rd, its changed a lot in the last 50 years…..LOL. The Old Woolworths is now Waitrose, I use it a lot and M&S as Tesco’s is crap. I remember Torquay St well; little houses like cottages etc, the halfpenny steps were along the Harrow Rd near the Avenues they led into Kensal Rd; where Wedlake swimming baths were; but I know the Bridge you mean; it was over the railways leading to Royal Oak and Paddington Station etc; we used that bridge every week in school term to take us from Waverley Walk to Porchester Swimming Baths for school swimming lessons etc; the next road up from Torquay was Hampden Crescent where I had a lot of friends, my mothers ”mother” had a large house in Alfred Rd and she also took in lodgers; she married a few times, but once my mother died after a couple of years she married again and her husband didn’t like her grandkids calling, so that was than, she died about five years later, but he nasty husband died first, so she got his money, me and my brother think she poisoned him; as all her husbands died after a short time of marriage; I guess in those days Arsenic Flypapers were very cheap, and used a lot by unhappy wives…..LOL.

        I lived in Clifton Gardens, which was more Maida Vale, but I went to school over Waverley Walk etc, and most of my friends before I left school were from that part of Paddington…..I have traced a vast family tree on my fathers side; but my mother dying and her mother, that left me with no details or names I could trace easily; one of my daughters has done a lot of searching, and I do have the odd links to kids I knew from my school days, so if I get time in the near future I might start looking again, not for me but my children and grandchildren’s sake…..In my mind I can still see all the streets as they were 65 years ago, and if the Council had refurbished that area instead of knocking it down; it would have made a great film set area, with all the different streets, and the often very different buildings; as you know; Torquay St was nothing Like Waverley Walk or even Senior St etc……….Take Care Pete…….Mick.

  • Ted Marsh

    Hi Mick.
    I Have recently discovered this website and was amazed that to read all the exchanges between yourself and Pete Hewlett regarding the area of Paddington where I was also born and bred, I can remember most of the areas as shown in the photographs,and like you remember them as they were prewar, I was born in 1936 at Westbourne Square which as you may remember was situated at the bottom of Lord Hills road, Westbourne Sq did get hit by a flying bomb in 1944 and many people were killed I wonder if you remember that happening. And my family were relocated to Westbourne park road
    All the street names are very familiar to me, and you mentioned Torquay St. I used to know a Derek Satterthwaite who lived there in one of the cottages that ran parallel to the railway near the footbridge. and quite a few names that Pete has mentioned ring a bell,
    Mick can you remember the name of the pub in Bourne Terrace it was down by the school, it was on the corner and I think there was a bakers opposite (Kirstens I think it was) I know the one at the top of Bourne terrace was called the Oliver.
    I have been back to the area few times in recent years and I walk down what was Lord hills road from the canal bridge and look at the horrid flats where once stood Westbourne sq and think what it was like all those years ago, anyway Mick as I said it was nice to read your version of the old places now long gone, and also Petes details of the area all of which I remember so well.

    All the best Ted Marsh .

    Just one more thing Mick do you have, or do you know anyone who has any photos of Westbourne Square before it was bombed ive been searching for years for a photo without any luck, someone must have been around with a brownie camera at That time snapping away. Cheers mate.

    • michael bishop

      Hello Ted.
      I was born in 42, so I am younger than you; and I think Westbourne Square was already bombed by then……LOL.. But the Square was between Lord Hills Rd and Chichester etc; oddly enough about four large houses were bombed next to our house in Clifton Gardens; it was rebuilt as police flats about the mid 1950s; one day an old lady rang my bell at Clifton gardens and asked who lived there now etc; I told her my family and two others shared the very large house; then she told me about lines of stretchers and lines of bodies laying all over Clifton Rd after the Fire Services had collected all the dead; she just wanted to know if anyone had survived that night; and I couldn’t tell her for sure as it was before we moved in; even the side of the house was propped up with large wooden props from ground to the roof; stopping our house tumble down as well….!!

      My Mother’s family were Paddington, and my Fathers family North London; Stoke Newington etc; so we lived in lots of places as toddlers, me and my living brother; one had already died six months after I was born; we were bombed out of Kings Cross, Essex Rd, and Dalston, then we were moved to Maida Vale and Clifton Gardens where we lived till the mid 1970s; I still live near Maida Vale today; I refuse to leave London for anyone; However; because my mother’s family lived in that part of Paddington, me and my brother went to school over the other side of the Harrow Rd, St Pauls etc; which was later linked to Holy Trinity; that Church like Building near Westbourne Square where you once lived. There is a film called Bitter Harvest that shows the Red Lion Pub on the BR Bridge near where you lived; and you would remember that etc; it was an interesting area for me, often I would walk home to Maida Vale the long way around; walking and looking at the buildings and the street shapes; lots of Victorian Houses that looked creepy at night to kids, especially by gas street lamplight..

      Later in life I took up photography, home bathroom stuff by a hobby etc; had I done that earlier I just might have had treasured pictures of our part of old London; sadly I have very few, but you can find lots on line; so you might be lucky, even today Sunday 11/09/2016 I got eight pictures from a charity shop on the Edgware Rd; one picture is I think, of Christchurch in Marylebone; all the girls are dressed in white smocks over their dark everyday clothes, it looks like the 1920s or 30s etc; another one has about 100 people in it, loads of kids sitting in an alley way in a widish street not a road etc; lots of bunting all over the place so it was a calibration of sorts; another is of a shop under a three story building; and the shop is a Servants Registry Office; so I think this one is pre 1914 etc, as Servants started disappearing after 1918….LOL.

      The others are varied, but by looking out for odds and ends; sometimes you strike lucky; this might help with a picture of Westbourne Square etc; however I think you will need tons of Luck getting that one as it was not a posh area, so photos being rare and expensive our area would not be a prime one to photograph.

      As I said; we lived in Clifton Gardens Maida Vale; today I would need about £3 million to buy that house which is still there looking as majestic as ever; whilst my grandmothers very large house was demolished to build the ghastly Warwick Estate….!!.

      I don’t remember the Pub, Ted; but I do remember the streets and the shops, I got my cats food every evening on my way home from school in Bourne Terrace, I have seen many films about London, and even a car hire garage in the Chichester St area, there were shops there, and a café I had tea once in a while if I had collected enough bottles, rags, and paper etc; that also paid my entrance to the pictures in the evenings including the Coliseum on Lock Bridge, the Regal near Paddington Green where the Trolley Buses terminated, the Gaumont and Odeon in Edgware Rd, the Prince of Wales on the Harrow Rd, and the Metropolitan Music Hall Edgware Rd etc.

      There is a TV channel called Talking Pics TV etc; its on Satellite TV etc; they often have old British Films, and you can record the shows then grab a picture on software used for capturing own video recordings; if your into that it can get rare pictures not available elsewhere etc.

      About your time that part of the Harrow Rd had lots of Businesses on it; in the 1950s Fararis cafes, and I remember Chemical companies with large carboys outside etc; and there was a wooden hutted type clinic near the Bridge for the Royal Oak Tube Station, later Terry Downs ex-World Middle weight champion had his American Club nearer to Bourne Terrace, on the crescent part; and he had a second hand car sales there as well; the clinic was from WW2 and I had a few stitches there myself after falling in the bombed buildings…….LOl.

      There was an Army Centre there as well; on the other side of the Harrow Rd; the Royal Fusiliers etc; I was a Cadet there for a while as they gave you a free uniform to impress the girls with; and I learned about Lee Enfield 303s and Bren Guns; and how to strip them down and reassemble them and fire them; I was about 14 years old then; today you get five years if your caught with a shotgun let alone a 303 or a Bren gun LOL.

      I do not know your friend from Torquay Street; but as you know I am younger than you so as we left school at 15 a couple of years meant a lifetime etc; but I did love those Cottages; and I thought they were great; I also liked the Prefabs between Waverley Walk and Alfred Rd, there was an alley way that led from Waverley into hampden Crescent, and on the corner of Hampden there was a greengrocers, and a Pub on the other side of the alley; a short walk bought you into Torquay St, and without turning into Torquay there was the Iron Foot Bridge that took you over to Westbourne Park Villas, once again there is a film showing Westbourne Park Villas; it was about a man who was going to detonate a bomb etc, and the people were being evacuated; I can’t remember the name at the moment, but its bound to come on TV again…..LOL.

      Anyway Ted; Nice to meet you; and you never know on here; you just might find someone you know who is still alive……..Now that would be Luck……….Take care OK……..Mick

      • John Ince

        Hi Michael, a lot you said about I can remember I was born in 1947 and had to go to school on the 662 or 18 bus. a lot of this was before they the built the A40 and them 4 tower blocks. I joined the TA Para’s in about 1965 so know about the Lee Enfield 303s and Bren Gun. The 303 had a big kick when you fire it, but the sten and bren guns were nice to fire. I look the picture and played on some of them site before they became flats, I also went to St Pauls, we had to walk from Waverly walk to Lord Hill Road to the girl school, I also did meet Terry Downs once in the back of a van we were all very pissed on our way to another pub. catch up with you soon.

      • michael bishop

        Hi John.

        Most of us got bruised shoulders the first time with a 303……LOL.

        There were two Trolley Bus Numbers; but I can’t remember them today; but the 18 and 36 also ran the Harrow Rd; I drove an 18 out of Middle Row in the 1960s etc; then I got a Cab Licence etc; I liked the Trolley Buses, and Paddington Green was a big Terminal in those days; especially on a Saturday Night. They changed St Pauls from a mixed school in my time there; after they took over Holy Trinity; where as you know they cooked all the school dinners and made it a Girls School and St Pauls a Boys School; which was sad as the girls cheered us boys up no end; and passing love notes during lessons taught me how to write…….LOL.

        Believe it or not; we often hung on the back of British Rail Scammel Lorries leaving the Albert Rd Depot and heading for Paddington Station; we let go outside Holy Trinity for our dinner; but before they made it Girls only; us boys also went to Holy Trinity, it was age separated in those days until Holtham made it a segregated school.

        Later in Life I was a doorman for Danny La Rue in his club in Hanover Square; and early one morning on a pile of rubbish was Terry Downs who had been out on the town all night; he was in a world of his own; but as it happens several years before that I was a fishmonger in Queensway; Mac Fisheries; and next door was a Chemist; where a relative of Terry worked; her name was Pauline; we liked each other a lot; but before we could get out together I was transferred to Marylebone High Street as they were short staffed etc.

        In those days jobs were two a penny; and I learned lots of trades and skills; but one of the best jobs I ever had was as a Dustman on St Marylebone Council; in those days they were not associated with Westminster; neither was Paddington; they were all separate councils; and St Marylebone was the best; nice work clothes, boots, staff canteen, showers, lockers, you name it St Marylebone Had it; but most of al;l it was Job and Finish; so we grafted hard and fast and most days we were finished by 11 am, and free for the rest of the day; and boxing in the evenings in several clubs all over Paddington and Marylebone; Dave Thomas at the Poly in Regents Street, Senior St. Middle Row. Seventh feathers over Balby Rd, and the Four Feathers off Church Street; there was always things to do in those days; plus jiving afterwards, and Friday, Saturday, and Sunday; I think that’s why we are still alive today…..LOL.

        In one of the pictures on this site you will see the site of Terry Downs Car Sales; its the one with the little office in it; and you can see the demolition work going on in the background; just near there a few friends lived; Chris and Cathy Garland were a brother and sister; and I liked their Mum and Dad a lot; they were the first family I knew that had a Hoover Constellation Vacuum Cleaner; it floated on air etc; nothing special now; but at the time it was amazing……LOL.

        Bye for Now………….Mick.

Leave a Reply

