Gloucester Road – gateway to London

Last week at Notting Hill Gate I looked at one of the deepest layers of my personal archaeology of London. This time I’m going to begin at an even deeper level.When I first came to London in 1973 I lived in Camden. But most Sundays I would get the tube from Camden Town to Gloucester Road, walk south to Old Brompton Road, turn left into Roland Gardens which took me to Evelyn Gardens where Imperial College had some halls of residence. My friend Carl lived there. Some Sundays we would just hang out, sometimes we would go and have a meal at a cafe in the Earls Court Road and sometimes we would begin to explore London.

I wasn’t the first person to start out with London from Gloucester Road. It’s still a place full of hotels,  tourists and coaches, people with trolleys puzzling over the tube map and the rules for using Oyster cards, tour buses getting in the way of the 49. And plenty of people not quite sure why they are starting out their journeys from this particular ordinary street.

Back in 1969 when you left the station, this is what you saw on the other side of the road:

Gloucester Road - east side KS 357075-73

Individual retailers mostly, still operating in a time-honoured fashion (note the delivery bike.)

Gloucester Road - east side, 83-81 KS 3571

The shops are under a 19th century terrace.

Gloucester Road - east side, 85 KS 3573

The Empire Grill, now home of Burger King, and a couple of old friends:

Gloucester Road - east side, 95-93 KS 3574

The Wimpy Bar, home of the UK’s own brand of hamburger, (waitress service and individually cooked burgers), now part of a branch of Tesco, and the Midland Bank, later part of HSBC.

If you were to turn around you could see another familiar building, Bailey’s Hotel.

Gloucester Road 140 Baileys Hotel KE75-36

But this week we won’t confine ourselves to living memory. Turn the dial back further:

 

Gloucester Road Baileys Hotel PC456

The old version of the building – it was owned by James Bailey and was at the time one of the best hotels in London, with many “American” features including an “ascending room” (lift). In 1890 it had over 300 apartments. Some of the spectacular internal features survive today.

The structure on the island opposite the station is an air vent for the railway

Further south down the road you come to this pleasant looking house opposite Hereford Square. I must have walked past it hundreds of times before I found that J M Barrie lived there. It has no blue plaque. That was taken by his house in Bayswater. But this was the house where he wrote some of his early successes, Quality Street and the Admirable Crichton.

 

Gloucester Road 133 J M Barrie

This stretch of Gloucester Road has houses and flats in the same scale, low-level, almost suburban. The mix of styles is probably to do with postwar development. There was some bomb damage in the area so the buildings have a charming individual quality. We’re coming to the end of the road at this point and I’m not going to take you along the rest of my 1970s route. We’re going back to the intersection with Cromwell Road. You won’t find this building there today. This is how the corner with Cromwell Road appeared in the 1930s.

Gloucester Road 118 1920s30s K4611B - Copy

Later, in 1969 you can see that entrance on the right of this picture:

 

Gloucester Road looking south from Cromwell Road dec 1969 - Copy

The grand entrance remained but there was no longer a bank on the site.

North from Cromwell Road, the buildings on either side of the road grow taller, even in the earlier days of the street.

Gloucester Road PC505 fp - Copy

This picture obviously comes from a quieter period for traffic. That street sweeper would not be standing there in later years. If you look in the distance as the road curves can you see this building?

Gloucester Court

St George’s Court, an apartment block built in 1907-09.  Here it is in another postcard:

St George's Court Gloucester Road

The ornate apartment block with its shops surmounted by small roof gardens is still there today of course.  Having already looked at the Survey of London for information on Bailey’s Hotel I naturally turned to them for some details on St George’s Court and they have done us proud again:  “This hefty building..is in one of the dowdier styles of Edwardian architecture, mixing elements  of Tudor and Baroque. red brick and brown stone dressings”.  Words I could not argue with, although I still like to look at it while passing by on the upper deck of a 49.

Arguably a more interesting block than on the opposite side of the road where there have been a few changes.

00014 - Copy (2)

A branch of Waitrose, 1970s, but I’m not sure of the exact date.

00013 - Copy (2)

And a couple of flash cars. These two pictures are from a contact sheet. It almost looks as though the photographer was on the move at the time.

As we come to another curve in the road and the end of Gloucester Road, this postcard image of a recognizable corner predates St George’s Court.

PC108 - Copy

This slightly blurred image is further north but shows the end of the road with a man running towards it for some reason best known to himself.

Pc511 - Copy

Finally, as we’ve bobbed about through the years this week, let’s go back to one of my favourite artists, William Cowen for a Gloucester Road view before the age of photography when a narrow road which was still called Gloucester Road ran through a rural setting.

 

C23 Mr Rigby's cottage

Mr Rigby’s cottage, near the station.

Postscript

It’s week eight of the great scanning famine (possibly the last week, fingers crossed) but I’m still finding pictures. I could almost have done a whole post just on postcards, but I decided to give you a touch of everything. There may be a iteration of the secret life of postcards coming up soon. I’ve just acquired an illustrated book by High Thomson, so if I can only scan the pictures, you can expect another post about him. It’s nearly time for some holiday posts.

In another postscript I referred to the fact that my friend Carl died quite young in 1999 but that I didn’t find out until quite recently. Writing this made me think of him again, our early days in London and the things he missed by never seeing this century. So I hope you’ll forgive me for dedicating a post once again to my friend Carl Spencer.


13 responses to “Gloucester Road – gateway to London

  • mikegreens

    Wish you could have unearthed an old Routemaster era picture of the 49 on it’s way along Gloucester Road. Maybe, once upon a time, it was a reliable bus service?

    Great post though!

  • First Night Design

    Oh, the memories! I, too, started from London in this area but in 1975. I went to the Webber Douglas Academy of Music and Dramatic Art in Clareville Street off the Gloucester Road. I’m now stymied me for the rest of the day as I shall probably wallow in those happy memories for hours! Thank you for an excellent post, Dave.

  • paultodman

    Great post and pictures as usual Dave. Following an earlier post of yours I have just finished reading Colin MacInnes’ Absolute Beginners. It’s whetted my appetite for seeing any old pictures of Latimer and Bramley Roads, and of course Blechynden Street where my grandparents had a boot repairers. Any old pictures in your archives of the long lost streets around that area? Paul

    • Dave Walker

      Paul
      I did a few posts featuring Bernard Selwyn’s photos of the streets near Latimer Road earlier this year (Life in colour, Speed kills etc) – just use the search box under Latimer Road. There are also some pictures of Blechynden Street in a much older post called Summer in the city: the last days of Hurstway Street. Check those out.
      Dave

  • Carole Gunn

    So interesting David – thank-you. I am staying in Gloucester Rd for a few weeks and together with the no 49 having a great time finding out about so many famous residents in the area – some of whom have associations with other parts of my life or with Hampshire where I live.

  • Liz Altieri

    I went to school at 2 Elvaston Place (Miss Irene Ironsides deserves a story of her own) it’s still there — now part of another school. The building next door (now Citadines Aparthotel) had rows of doorbells with handwritten labels next to them. I liked that corner door — the birds always pecked through the top of the gold and silver-topped milk bottles. They left the red ones alone. There was a pretty little trio of shops – including a chemist with the big bottles in the window and the Fleur de Lys bakery (best vanilla fudge) near the Gloucester Rd Tube Station. I loved those huge lifts in the station with wooden floors and cage doors. We went to Cullen’s (a pre-supermarket era grocery with a couple of counters — already getting tired in the 60s and now gone but still there in 2003) for sticky buns on the way back from the post office. Some of those pre-supermarket groceries still survive in the US too esp in cities like New York as food boutiques or convenience stores but they’re nearly all gone now as the supermarket chains have inserted themselves in urban areas too. And thank you for the picture bc I thought i was mad when I was sure Waitrose was on that side of the street bc the new one is on the other side. But they’d taken two or smaller shops and put them together (I remember the doorway was in the frozen food area). Now they’ve put them back into smaller shops again with no trace that Waitrose was ever there. There’s also an episode of the old Rumpole series showing Rumpole and Hilda in about 1970-71 walking away from the shops in “The” Gloucester Road towards their old mansion block at 29 Palace Gate (still there but now with the dingy coziness all gone). Sorry for the long post. I hope you know what a remarkable historian you are — thank you.

    • DGD

      I’m so intrigued to know more about Irene Ironsides now!

      • Liz

        Her niece, Virginia Ironside, has written about her and the school (where she went too). I really recommend her — both for her sense of place and time and just because she’s a good read! Janey and Me: Growing Up with My Mother (2003). Please EM me if you want to know more.

  • Phil Williams

    …… Lived opposite G Road Tube – above the ‘flats bedsits’ ad – two floors above. Brilliant Website.

  • Phil Williams

    ….. Oh but you bring back memories for me of Gloucester Road (my uncle lived there); the late 60s to mid 70s. Many Thanks

  • John EYTON

    Dave I saw a photo and posting on Linkedin about the premises which is now KFC on Gloucester Road…. https://www.linkedin.com/posts/samantha-cooper-57799326_in-a-modern-day-london-this-unassuming-kfc-activity-6883496001311698944-XKcn/
    On this spot, at least three murders occurred, committed by the infamous John George Haigh, also known as the Acid Bath Murderer.

    His own premises was a basement in Gloucester Road opposite the tube station, which is now blocked off to public access.
    (I never heard that story until seeing the photo on linkdein..)

    The photo brought back many memories I had my London office for Ranger Travel at 81a Gloucester Road for 7 years from 1972 to 1979..

    The office was on the first floor above what is now KFC…
    I did a search and found your very interesting site …https://rbkclocalstudies.wordpress.com/2016/07/07/gloucester-road-gateway-to-london/
    In the photo under your caption ” The shops are under a 19th century terrace”
    it shows what was a Fuller’s Cafe and then the Kardomah Cafe for almost all of the 1970’s. Next door you see St Anthony’s School of English, with the balcony.
    The first KFC in London was at the corner of Gloucester Road and Cromwell Road.. in your photo with the caption ” Individual retailers mostly,” shows the United Dairies… I am not sure of the dates when KFC opened there..
    I lived close to Gloucester Road Station for over 11 years.. In 1977 for 3 years we lived at the corner of Gloucester Road and Cornwall Gardens. My daughter Suzanne was born in November 78 at West London Hospital.. , next to Hammersmith Broadway. In 1980 we moved to Newcastle where I had been at school…
    Suzanne & her husband stayed in an apartment in Gloucester Road in 2019… and took photos of the place she lived in her early years. The rest is history.
    I have many more memories of living close to Gloucester Road…
    from John Eyton in Kuala Lumpur Malaysia.

  • Bertone

    So glad to find your article about Gloucester Road. I was a student at St. Anthony School of English in Summer of 1978. Great school, wonderful teachers, lovely memories.

  • Bertone

    Please forgive my poor typing skills. I obviously meant to write “in THE Summer of 1978”, and “St. Anthony’s”. Thank you again for a very interesting guided walk!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.