Hidden in plain sight: Chelsea’s Jewish cemetery

Last week, on Friday, I was on the 211 bus heading home with a bag of shopping when I saw that  there had been some damage to a brick wall on the corner of the Fulham Road and Old Church Street. A whole section of the wall had been knocked inwards possibly as a result of some kind of impact. I thought I should take some photographs but when I went out on Sunday the area was surrounded by workmen and equipment, with a temporary set of traffic lights. On my way in this morning I took a few pictures, as the breach in the wall was still there.

20160815_090110

Not only is there a hole, but behind it a pile of bricks.

20160815_090125

Beyond that you can see the gravestones themselves.

20160815_090133

It’s not the first time this wall has been disturbed. Back in 1989 I was also there with a camera when the whole wall was partially demolished and there was the opportunity to take some pictures of an obscure corner of Chelsea. In normal circumstances you only get the chance to see the area behind the wall if you’re sitting on a passing bus. This corner, between the Institute of Cancer Research and a short row of shops devoted to antiquarian books and interior design, is the location of Chelsea’s Jewish Cemetery.

Jewish Cemetery Oct 1989 04

The wall, as you can see, was then short enough to look over. The original wall was tall enough to completely conceal the cemetery.

Jewish Cemetery Oct 1989 01

It was a bright day for October. The pictures were taken with an Olympus pocket (film) camera so they look a little grainy.

Jewish Cemetery Oct 1989 02

But you can make out the Hebrew inscriptions.

The cemetery, or burial ground appears on Thompson’s famous Chelsea map of 1836.

Copy of Thompsons 1836_Chelsea 4006 - Copy - Copy

The area was called Queen’s Elm after the Queen’s Elm tavern which was right opposite. On this detail you can see Trafalgar Square (later Chelsea Square) and Bath Lodge (later Catharine Lodge along with a number of houses with large gardens on the west side of Old Church Street,

George Bryan, in his 1869 book “Chelsea in the olden and present times” tells us the burial ground was “erected in 1816 by the individuals whose names are inscribed on the wall of the entrance building” (visible on the map).

Hugh Meller, in the third edition of his London Cemeteries (an invaluable book for London historians) which has details of 14 Jewish cemeteries in London says: “The impression given by this tiny cemetery is more typical of Prague than London.”. I can see his point. The 300 gravestones are in a comparatively small area, almost hermetically sealed behind a brick wall and “a rusty iron gate“. I imagine the burial ground fitting into a Bruno Schulz story (or a film by the Quay Brothers for that matter) especially as modern Prague is often used as a location for Victorian London in recent films and TV dramas.

Jewish Cemetery in Fulham Road c1896

The picture comes from The London Burial Grounds (1896) by Mrs Basil Holmes. Mrs Holmes called it “a dreary place” and remarked on the lack of proper paths between the graves. By the time she wrote her book the prayer hall and office had been replaced by the parade of shops. The last burial was said to be in 1913, although Meller gives the date of closure as early as 1884. He also notes the presence of mulberry trees. (That is actually another story altogether, associated with the estate called Chelsea Park which was on this side of the Fulham Road. Parts of it still survive in Elm Park Gardens and so what he says is possible.)

These pictures, from one of our scrapbooks are also dated 1896.

Jewish Cemetery Queen's Elm 1896 CM142c

In this one, possibly taken from one of the shops you can see South Parade and beyond it Trafalgar Square, and the tower of St Luke’s Church.

I’m not so sure of the angle in this picture:

Jewish Cemetery Queen's Elm 1896 CM142

In the 1970s the cemetery was under the threat of redevelopment and there was a plan reported in local newspapers in 1974 to have the ground deconsecrated, and any surviving remains removed to Israel.

cutting 1974

This never occurred. I was told that a benefactor paid for some restoration work to keep the cemetery secure. It remained an obscure corner of Chelsea, safe behind its walls. A place of absolute stillness beside a busy road, its continued existence a source of satisfaction for those who like the quiet places of the city.

Whether in 1989,

Jewish Cemetery Oct 1989 03or 2016

20160815_090130

20160815_090142

The hole in the wall is now boarded up, which you can almost see in this picture but the main point of it is to show that even with the wall breached the cemetery is well hidden by the abundant trees.

20160820_091709

Postscript

I promised you a new post by my colleague Isabel this week but she has gone to ground in Kent, somewhere near here:

Old Road Chatham - Copy

Hugh Thomson steps in to help again. The picture is from Highways and Byways in Kent (1907). Isabel will be back soon.

It was fortunate this subject presented itself to me out of nowhere. I’ve noticed that I’ve written posts about almost every point of my journey to work, with very few gaps and this is a further addition to the psycho-geographical trail. I’ll work on those gaps in the future.

 


28 responses to “Hidden in plain sight: Chelsea’s Jewish cemetery

  • Jim Shield

    Wow, what a fantastic find which I never new existed.

    Thank you for yet another gem.

  • woofbarkyap

    In the 1950s, my mum worked in one of the two taller shop buildings (now the antiquarian bookshop), she said you could still see into the graveyard from the window at the back upstairs so maybe you still can. It would be perfect for the view towards “trafalgar Sq” (surely you meant Chelsea Sq or did it change its name at some point?) so maybe if you asked nicely…

  • cboot

    Had to drag my drunken dad out of the Queens’s Elm on several occasions!

    I often, as you mentioned, looked down over the wall into the Cemetery from the top deck of the 14 bus, returning back down the Fulham road from South Ken, or further afield. As a child I wondered why it was so tiny in comparison to the mighty Brompton Cemetery.

    It was also a useful reminder to turn right on the way to the Children’s Library in Manresa road (1960s and very early 70s); it’s now ‘Gems Hampshire School’ apparently! Years later, when we were finally leaving Fulham Road, I found an unreturned Children’s Library Book; expecting a huge fine I entered fearing the worst. They passed it off very kindly saying that they were only grateful to see an old friend; I don’t know whether they were referring to me or the book!

  • chris worsfold

    i lived nearby in Evelyn Gardens in the 50s and early 60s for around 15 years and never new the cemetery existed. In the early 60s i used to deliver newspapers to the flats in Trafalgar Chambers, in the early dark winter mornings the stairs were unlit and it used to freak me out climbing to the top flats, i used to take a deep breath and deliver all my papers before running out of the building with my heart pounding in my chest, it was a scary building, had I known it backed onto a cemetery I would have left them at the bottom door. Another memory as a child was a lane that is now gone and was opposite the Queens Elm pub called Elm Mews. it was an unmade dusty lane with wooden buildings which I think may have been a Blacksmiths, it always struck me as being like somwhere out in the countryside but in reality you were only a few hundred yards from the busy Fulham Road.

    • C.M Brooks

      I grew up in Trafalgar Chambers in the top flat with no running hot water and an outside loo, right next to the cemetery and above the coffin shop and garage for the undertakers on the ground and first floors and right next to the fire station. When I was a child it was a working fire station and I remember our view from the bedroom window which looked right over the cemetery. Though I lived there you’re right! It was always REALLY scary. My parents moved into this flat just after the war, brought up four children there and didn’t move out until 2007 when we finally managed to get them to move to a comfortable flat in Eastbourne. I hated that building and was always afraid, especially as you had to leave the flat to use the loo.
      You really made me laugh as I knew so vividly how you felt………..and I lived there! lol

    • C.M Brooks

      Dear Chris, Elm mews (now Lecky Street) comprised of five cottages interspersed with stables and workshops and a carpenters shop belonging to Christopher Surrey. It’s this workshop I believe you thought was a blacksmiths, although it is possible in light of the stables that in the 1800’s there might have been a small blacksmiths there. Also York mews ran along the back of Trafalgar Chambers, the Fire Station and the Brompton Hospital Nurses home (all in South Parade) and housed the entrance for the undertakers (whose name escapes me)and who had a shop opposite the mews in Fulham Road and whose coffin workshop ran along the first floor of Trafalgar Chambers, their garages for the hearses being housed underneath. That mews was also quite scary and very much a place that time had forgotten!

      • C.M Brooks

        York Mews is now Dudmaston Mews.

      • chris worsfold

        I didnt know about the Jewish Cemetery,undertakers or the coffin workshop next to Trafalgar Chambers when I delivered my newspapers to those flats at the top of the building. Had I known the papers would have been left at the bottom. Now I can understand why I was so scared walking up those dark stairs every morning, there was obviously a hint of death floating around that building.

  • Paul Harris

    I was born in the fire station next door, my Dad was a fireman,. My Mum said the cemetery was in view from our flat which was on the top floor. The Fire station is now an Eye hospital.

    • C.M Brooks

      It’s not an eye hospital; it’s the Royal Brompton Hospital centre for Sleep :0) I’m not sure how your mum would have been able to see the cemetery as Trafalgar Chambers was between the cemetery and the fire station, was as tall and ran along the entire length of the wall. There was a small piece of the wall which backed onto the mews at the back of the fire station but as the fire station was the other side of the mews, no windows overlooked it. If you google Trafalgar Chambers, South Parade you can see a fairly recent photo which proves my point. The top floor windows along wall of Trafalgar Chambers were our bedrooms.

      • P Harris

        I stand corrected, sleep hospital it is. I cant ask my mum as she is dead, It could well have been my Dad who said it was visible, he after all spent a lot of time on the roof in the smoke tower. Whatever the case no one cares if it was visible or not. We moved away when I was 2 and I really dont care either.

      • Neal O'Gorman

        If you were on the top floor of the old fire station and looked out over the Mews you could see the Cem…I used to work there in the 70s.

    • C.M Brooks

      That’s fabulous ! I was too young to remember when the smoke tower was actually used but my mum said it was manned even at night. Do you know that was true? And the cemetery would definitely have been visible over our flat roof from the smoke tower.

  • yamey

    Very interesting. I had heard about this cemetery, but until I discovered your blog I had never seen any pictures of it.

  • C.M Brooks

    What is now the book shop on Queens Elm Parade used to be a greengrocers. This shop used to have a door out the back which opened right out onto the cemetery itself and the greengrocer used to keep his potatoes out there.

  • Jax

    On the top deck of the 345 I looked down and saw this.. I tried to find out who lays there and if it was open …after looking on the internet and typing in many variations of the same question, I stumbled on your article.. Thank you for the information
    Is it ever open?

  • Mary

    Does anyone know how to arrange a visit, please?

  • Jenni Frazer

    I’d really like to visit if it is at all possible.

  • ESTHER KAHN

    Hello, I am coming to London very soon and would love to be able to visit. How do you get to do this? Who do you arrange through? I have done some genealogical research using information from burials here.

  • Sophie

    Thank you all for the historic facts and interesting personal anecdotes, which I have found very interesting to read. I actually stayed at the Centre for Sleep at the end of May 2018, which is housed in the old Fire Station, but also comprises (at least) the ground floor of old Trafalgar Chambers. Having checked the street view in Google Maps, I can confirm that I entered the black door of the Fire Station, and the individual overnight rooms are through a short walkway to the left. So imagine my surprise, settling in for the night, when I opened the ground floor window and saw the backs of all those grave stones! It is somewhat ironic that this is the view from the Centre for Sleep. Having dwelled on this much neglected and apparently forgotten resting place, I was delighted to find this article.

  • Chrissy Brooks

    If you are interested in the cemetery/its history check out this website.
    http://www.londongardensonline.org.uk/gardens-online-record.php?ID=KAC148
    It opened in 1761 and closed in 1885 with the occasional burial right up until 1910 and it is recognised as being the oldest surviving Ashkenazi cemetery.
    I haven’t been back to Chelsea Square since my parents left in 2007 but I’ve loved this site and reading about an area I once knew so well. As children we used to dare each other to climb over the gate by the grocers just to frighten ourselves but now I think of it with nothing but fondness. Strangely, many years later my eldest sister ended up marrying Richard Hopkins; the widower of Adel Hopkins ne Rootstein whose estate on her death bought and saved the cemetery, giving it to the Western Synagogue company in perpetuity.
    I hope some of you take the trouble to visit it.
    Chrissy

  • Sara Jones

    28 May 2019
    I am so glad this cemetery is still there. I grew up in this area 50 years ago and that corner where the cemetery is was always very quiet and special. I glad people are still taking care of it

  • The Hidden Jewish Cemetery on Fulham Road

    […] are some early images of the Jewish cemetery in this blog post from Local Studies Librarian of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. However, I […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.